Home > artist thoughts > Interview for The Jazz Session with Jason Crane

Interview for The Jazz Session with Jason Crane

the jazz session

Click here to hear the podcast.  We talk about the history of the Los Angeles Jazz Collective and about the creative jazz scene (or lack thereof) in LA, interspersed with lengthy excerpts of music from our sampler.  If you ever wanted a good overview on our little collective and what it is exactly, this is a good place to start.

It was almost a year ago when our publicist set up an interview with one of the best jazz podcasts on the internet these days.  The interviewer is Jason Crane, host of “The Jazz Session with Jason Crane”.  Jason has done stellar interviews with many excellent and notable artists such as Terrence Blanchard, Chris Potter, Jason Moran, John Hollenbeck, Darcy James Argue, Vijay Iyer, Peter Erskine, and so on.  Needless to say I was mildly terrified of going on a show that had featured so many heavyweights with the potential of making a complete ass of myself for all the jazz blogosphere to see.  Nonetheless we did the interview by phone, he was on the East Coast and I was sweating it out in my car before playing a casual gig near downtown LA.  Jason is an engaging personality and a good interviewer, and I thought it went pretty well (the interview, I mean).  He unfortunatly called me “Greg Fukushima” as we were wrapping up, but not to worry, he assured me he would fix that in post.

Many months passed and there were weekly podcasts of the Jazz Session, but not ours.  I began to have the sinking feeling that perhaps that interview wasn’t so hot after all.  I was pretty sure that I must have said something stupid and unsalvageable.  I thought about contacting Jason to see what was up, but a part of me was afraid of what I might hear as to why he hadn’t put out our interview.

Then on Monday, my fears were laid to rest.  Jason had finally released my interview, with on air apologies for forgetting about it and having it buried on his hard drive for all these months.  So I can breathe a sigh of relief, the interview wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t that memorable.

I guess I can live with that.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

